Title Sponsor




We are proud to announce our 2017 Inductees:

Laurie Finney Beard

past Region President, Old National Bank


Richard C. Breon

President & CEO, Spectrum Health



Edward J. Frey

Distinguished Achievement

Award Recipient

Dr. Juan Olivarez

President, Aquinas College



Also being honored:


JA Spirit of Achievement Award



David B. Hensch JA Volunteer of the Year

Patty Compagner, Flagstar Bank



For information regarding tickets and sponsorship contact:

Jay Ediger

Sr. VP of Development

616.575.9080 ext. 227



Click HERE to download

2017 Registration Form


The Junior Achievement West Michigan Business Hall of Fame
The Junior Achievement West Michigan Business Hall of Fame event was created to honor prominent business leaders who have made extraordinary contributions to West Michigan, earned the respect of the local community, and called attention to the free enterprise system and its value to our community.
Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park
May 22, 2017
Presenting Sponsor
Supporting Sponsor
Laureate Reception Sponsor
General Reception Sponsor
David B Hensch
Volunteer of the Year Award Sponsor
Scott Pranger

Junior Achievement of the Michigan Great Lakes - Laureates

1989 Richard M. DeVos  

2003 Leslie E. Tassell

1989 Edward J. Sr. Frey 1997 John L. Hilt 2004 Michael J. Jandernoa
1989 Richard M. Gillett 1997 Earl D. Holton 2004 Paul A. Johnson
1989 David D., Sr. Hunting 1997 Seymour K. Padnos 2004 Victor W. Krause
1989 Frederik G.H. Meijer 1997 Stuart B. Padnos 2004 Otto A. Krause
1989 Jay Van Andel 1997 Richard W. Young 2004 Christos Panopoulos
1990 Anna S. Bissell 1999 Edith Blodgett 2004 Gary L. Verplank
1990 Melville R. Bissell 1999 John W., Jr Blodgett 2004 L.J. "Midge" Verplank
1990 William P. Lear 1999 Gerrard W. Haworth 2005 William F. Beebe
1990 Robert C. II Pew 1999 Earle S. "Win" Irwin 2005 Eileen J. DeVries
1990 James R. Sebastian 1999 Raymond E. Knape 2005 Doyle A. Hayes
1990 L. William Seidman 1999 Ambassador Peter F. Secchia 2005 Isabel Navarro
1991 Hyman Berkowitz 1999 Robert A. Woodrick 2005 Miguel "Mike" Navarro
1991 Peter C. Cook 2001 John M. Bissell 2005 H. Monroe Taliaferro
1991 Charles R., Sr. Evenson 2001 James W.F. Brooks 2007 Danny Gaydou
1991 Walter D. Idema 2001 John F. Donnelly 2007 J.C. Huizenga
1991 Peter Martin Wege 2001 David G. Frey 2008 Bing Goei
1993 Edsko Hekman 2001 Birgit M. Klohs 2008 Patrick Quinn
1993 Edward W. Jackoboice 2002 Roger A. Andersen 2009 John M. Brann
1993 George A. Sr. Jackoboice 2002 Fred P. Keller 2009 Sydney J. Jr. Jansma
1993 Fred M. Keller 2002 John C. Kennedy 2010 Timothy J. O'Donovan
1993 Willard Schroeder 2002 Donald W. Maine 2011 Douglas DeVos
1995 John C. Canepa 2002 Rita Williams 2011 Steve Van Andel
1995 Robert L. Hooker 2003 Paul Gordon 2012 Richard Antonini
1995 Miner S. II Keeler 2003 John Gordon Sr. 2013 Mark Bissell
1995 Edgar D. Prince 2003 Erina Hanka 2014 Kevin T. Kabat
1995 Robert D. Tuttle 2003 Ralph W. Hauenstein 2014 Donald G. Heeringa
1997 Daniel F. Gerber 2003 Jack H. Miller 2015 Nelson C. Jacobson
1997 Dorothy S. Gerber   2016 Dick Haworth



The Junior Achievement West Michigan Business Hall of Fame was created to honor past and present businesspersons who serve as an inspiration to the entire community. Criteria for a Laureate's Induction into the Hall of Fame include:

  • Adhering to the highest moral and ethical principles;
  • Being recognized by his or her organization or profession for significant contributions;
  • Demonstrating civic responsibility and community involvement;
  • Possessing a record of outstanding business achievements;
  • Serving as an outstanding role model for others, especially the youth of our community;
  • Having worked in West Michigan.



1995 2007
Gene Proctor Martin J. Allen Jr.
1997 2008
Kate Pew Wolters Peter M. Wege
1999 2009
Bettye Clarke Cannon Gordon and Margaret Van Wylen 
Sister M. Aquinas Weber 2010
2001 Charles II and Patricia Johnson
Helen Claytor 2011
2002 Tom and Mickie Fox
Rabbi Albert Micah Lewis 2012
2003 Donnalee Holton
Chuck and Stella Royce 2013
2004 Diana Sieger
Steele A. Taylor 2014
2005 Wilbur and Sharon Lettinga
Arend D. Lubbers 2015
2006 Jamie Mills
All Previous Awardees Honored 2016
  Mike Jandernoa