Adopt-A-School Program

Junior Achievement's Adopt-A-School (AAS) program was implemented in 2000. The initiative allows a company to partner with a particular school, underwriting the JA materials needed to address the needs of the educators. Some of the adopt-a-school business partners have a large base of employees who are also able to teach the JA curriculum. The cost of becoming an Adopt-A-School partner is $5,000 per year.

Each year, JA's AAS partners are invited to attend the annual Adopt-A-School & Community Partners Breakfast. This event affords representatives from the business community to meet their school partners – teachers, principals and students - as well as be recognized for their investment in the lives of these young people.

In addition to the presentation of the partnerships, JA's Volunteer and Teacher of the Year awards are also presented. The volunteers are nominated by their teachers and are chosen based on criteria including; number of classes taught, the length of time they have taught for JA, their assistance in recruiting other volunteers, as well as the qualities that make them a role model for their students. Past recipients include: Scotty Bailey-Perot Systems, Chuck Siemen-IBM, Andy Cohen-LexmarkTeachers, Roy Turley-Clark County Extension Service, Rodney Webber-American Founders Bank, Mahendran Naidu-The Educare Institute, Wallis Brooks-Kentucky Bank, Debbie Fatkin, Manson Myles-Toyota Motor Manufacturing, Ronn Robinson-American Electric Power, Jeff Vanderhorst-KnightHorst Shredding Craig Browning-Kositzka, Wicks and Company, Karen Cropper-Johnsons Controls Foamech, Kelly Abraham-First Presbyterian Church, Tommy Roberts-Central Bank & Trust, and John Hibbard-Edward Jones.

The teachers are nominated by their classroom volunteer. The selection committee evaluates the following information - the length of time they have had JA in their classroom, the number of classes they have had during their tenure and, most importantly, how they extend their JA activities into the community and everyday lessons. Past recipients include: Claudette Allen-Henry Clay High School, Debbie Case-Tates Creek Elementary, Alan Curtsinger-Woodford County Middle School, Maria Wertzler-West Jessamine Middle School, Kay Swain-SCAPA, Jody Cabble-Henry Clay High School, Charles Atinay-Henry Clay High School, Kevin Clary-Jessie Clark Middle School, Mike Reilly-Mary Queen of the Holy Rosary, Stephanie Sims-Good Shepherd Catholic School, Mary Beth Olds-Peaks Mill Elementary School, and Elizabeth Davis-Yates Elementary School.