Adopt-A-School Program | Junior Achievement of the Bluegrass

JA Adopt-A-School Program

Junior Achievement's Adopt-A-School (AAS) program was implemented in 2000. The initiative allows a company to partner with a particular school, underwriting the JA materials needed to address the needs of the educators. Some of the adopt-a-school business partners have a large base of employees who are also able to teach the JA curriculum. The cost of becoming an Adopt-A-School partner is $5,000 per year.
Each year, JA's AAS partners are invited to attend the annual Adopt-A-School & Community Partners Breakfast. This event affords representatives from the business community to meet their school partners – teachers, principals, and students - as well as be recognized for their investment in the lives of these young people.
In addition to the presentation of the partnerships, JA's Volunteer and Teacher of the Year awards are also presented. 

2018-2019 Adopt-a-School Partners

JA's Adopt-A-School initiative was introduced four years ago and allows companies to take ownership of a particular school. A company invests $5,000 in JA, and that allows JA to initiate at least ten classes at the school impacting at least 250-300 students with the program's business and economic curriculum. The company may choose the school they want to sponsor – elementary, middle or high school.

Gold Partners

JA Board of Directors - Tates Creek Elementary and Middle Schools

Toyota Motor Manufacturing - No designated school

Warren Rosenthal - Dixie Elementary School

Silver Partners

Ball Homes - Edythe J. Hayes Middle School

Central Bank & Trust - Paul Laurence Dunbar High School

Community Trust Bank - Tates Creek High School

Cowgill Partners LP - Frederick Douglass High School

Crowe Horwath, LLP - Jessie Clark Middle School

Davis H. Elliot Company - Athens-Chilesburg Elementary School

Kentucky Blood Center- Lafayette High School

Kentucky Utilities - Liberty Elementary School

Lexmark International - Winburn Middle School

Quantrell - Northern Elementary School

Stoll Keenon Ogden, PLLC - Veterans Park Elementary School

Traditional Bank - Leestown Middle School

Trane - Beaumont Middle School

Valvoline - Breckinridge Elementary School

WesBanco - Southern Middle School

Financial Literacy Program Partners

Hilliard Lyons

Kentucky Bank

Kentucky Utilities

PNC Bank

Curriculum Partners

Bechtel Parsons Blue Grass

Carol Rosenthal Foundation

Fayette County Public Schools






Volunteer of the Year Past Recipients

The volunteers are nominated by their teachers and are chosen based on criteria including; the number of classes taught, the length of time they have taught for JA, their assistance in recruiting other volunteers, as well as the qualities that make them a role model for their students.

Scotty Bailey - Perot Systems

Chuck Siemen - IBM

Andy Cohen - Lexmark

Ronn Robinson - American Electric Power

Karen Cropper - Johnsons Controls Foamech

John Hibbard - Edward Jones

Roy Turley - Clark County Extension Service

Rodney Webber - American Founders Bank

Mahendran Naidu - The Educare Institute

Jeff Vanderhost - Knight Horst Shredding

Kelly Abraham - First Presbyterian Church

Wallis Brooks - Kentucky Bank

Debbie Fatkin

Manson Myles - Toyota Motor Manufacturing

Craig Browning - Kositzka Wicks and Company

Tommy Roberts - Central Bank & Trust

Ryan Worthen - KEMI

Garry Conley - Minuteman Press

Teacher of the Year Past Recipients

The teachers are nominated by their classroom volunteer. The selection committee evaluates the following information - the length of time they have had JA in their classroom, the number of classes they have had during their tenure and, most importantly, how they extend their JA activities into the community and everyday lessons.

Claudette Allen - Henry Clay High School

Maria Wertzler - West Jessamine Middle School

Kevin Clary - Jessie Clark Middle School

Mary Beth Olds - Peaks Mill Elementary School

Debbie Case - Tates Creek Elementary

Kay Swain - SCAPA

Mike Reilly - Mary Queen of the Holy Rosary

Elizabeth Davis - Yates Elementary School

Alan Curtsinger - Woodford Co. Middle School

Jody Cabble - Henry Clay High School

Stephanie Sims - Good Shepherd  School

Cindy Gatsos - Southern Middle School

To learn more, please email Lynn Hudgins or call 859-219-2423.
  • "Junior Achievement has given me a sense of what adults go through with budget issues."

    -Junior Achievement Student
  • "Junior Achievement reinforced concepts for me to remember later in life."

    -Junior Achievement Student
  • "I thought the experience was amazing. The presentation was unlike anything I've seen."

    -Junior Achievement Student
  • "I liked how the Junior Achievement volunteer explained his job to us."

    -Junior Achievement Student

Get Involved!

Junior Achievement
of the Bluegrass

Donate Now    Volunteer    Request a