JA Events | Junior Achievement of Delaware

JA Events are so Awesome!

JA of Delaware EVENTS

At JA of Delaware, we host special events throughout the year to learn from our stakeholders, showcase our students and honor outstanding role models and volunteers. These events engage the community in our efforts to reach more local students by raising critical funds and/or awareness! Whether you'd like to get involved as an individual attendee or as a business through event sponsorship, we offer several ways for you to support our work while having a great time!

JA Capability Campaign & Centennial Challenge Success Celebrations!

JA Capability Campaign & Centennial Challenge Success Celebrations!

When: June 11, 2020
Where: JA Campus, 522 S. Walnut Street, Wilmington, DE 19801
Time: Breakfast, Lunch and Happy Hour Sessions are planned

Calling all volunteers, teachers, students, alumni and donors to the

JA Capability Campaign & JA Centennial Challenge

Come celebrate with us!

Choose from a

Morning Breakfast Session

Mid-Day Lunch Session

After Work Happy Hour Session

Join us as we unveil recognition for all of the donors and honor the strategic partners who have prepared us for another 100 years!

-Experience 100 years of JA history in a 3-minute augmented reality tour

-Turn a blank canvas into a work of art depicting your JA memories

-and Sign the JA "Across the Decades" Wall in our Centennial Exhibit

The JA Centennial Challenge Celebration is made possible by M&T Bank

Delaware Business Leaders Hall of Fame

Delaware Business Leaders Hall of Fame

When: November 12, 2020
Where: CSC Global Headquarters
Time: 5:30pm-7:45pm

Founded in 1990, The Delaware Business Leaders Hall of Fame honors business and community leaders whose work has had a positive impact on Workforce and Economic Development in the region.  Originally a partnership with Hagley Museum & Library with a focus on inducting historical laureates, today the Hall of Fame features current and recent leaders whose influence is known and felt by their contemporaries.

On October 2, 2019 at Wilmington Country Club, 2019 Hall of Fame Chair Christopher Burkhard led the festivities as we inducted Calvert A. Morgan, Jr, Sam & Mariah Calagione, and Thomas H. Draper.

Last year, 2018 Hall of Fame chair Rob Martinelli, CEO and President of Today Media presided over the induction of J. Michael Bowman, Robert W. Perkins, and Terry A.Strine at Wilmington Country Club on Wednesday October 10 at 6:45pm, immediately following a 5:30pm reception.

Each year, the Junior Achievement of Delaware Leadership Council approves the selection of a slate of new inductees.  2017 inductees were Rob Siegfried from The Siegfried Group, and Ernie Dianastasis from The Precisionists, formerly of CAI, Inc.

The Hall of Fame inductees serve as role models to the students JA serves.  Hall of Fame Chairs over the years have included multiple individuals who went on to be inducted into the Hall of Fame in subsequent years.  These include: Ellen Kullman, Paul McConnell, Carol Ammon, Edgar S. Woolard, Jr. and Ernie Dianastasis.

Other Hall of Fame laureates in reverse order of induction are: Allen Fasnacht, Fred Sears, Gary Stockbridge, Peter Morrow, Rob Buccini, Verino Pettinaro, Bob Laskowski, Dan Butler (CSC),  Peter Minuit, Arkadi Kuhlmann, Jim Kelly, Alan R. Burkard, James A. Wolfe, Mark A. Suwyn, Craig Rogerson, Dian C. Taylor, Alan B. Levin, Frank J. McIntosh, Foster Friess, Murray Berstein, Leonard W. Quill, Leon F. Slocomb, Jr., Marvin N. (Skip) Schoenhals, Leon N. Weiner, John B. Campbell, Sally Hawkins, Robert W. Gore, T. Coleman du Pont, Werner C. Brown, John W. Rollins, Sr., Charles M. Cawley, John A. Krol, Frederick G. Krapf, Jr., Bernard J. Taylor, II, Carolyn S. Burger, Harry Levin, Joshua Heald, Walter S. Carpenter, David D. Wakefield, Joshua & Thomas Gilpin, Edward Goett, Jack Burris, Arthur S. Carota, E.I. du Pont, Joseph Bancroft, Irving S. Shapiro, Alexander F. Giacco, George Lobdell, Oliver Evans, Wilbert & Genevieve Gore, P.S. du Pont, Crawford Greenewalt and Joseph Tatnall.

JA Guest Bartending Event

JA Guest Bartending Event

When: Contingency Plans Under Way - TBA
Where: Brandywine Brewing Co. BBC
Time: 6pm - 9pm

Much thanks to our 2019 bartenders...

Stephanie Brosious, Marlette Funding

Ryan Bucari, Trellist

Mike Carney, Junior Achievement of Delaware

Denée Crumrine, Delaware State Chamber of Commerce

Anna Fiscella, Delaware Superior Court

Al Gallo, Peninsula Energy (PESCO)/Chesapeake Utilities Corp.

Hollie Gorman, Brown & Brown of Delaware

Brian Haigh, VWR, part of Avantor

Kristen Kuipers, TAPP Network

Matt Laird, Assurance Media

Jamie Leonard, New Castle County Police

Susan McGarry, Marlette Funding

Christine Melaugh, Capital One

Kristin Moore, WSFS Institutional Services

Luke Rhine, Delaware Department of Education
Honorary Bartender

Rep. Mike Smith, Delaware General Assembly & University of Delaware

Mike Vanderslice, Environmental Alliance

Jon Wickert, Delaware State Parks

Our guest bartenders donate their time and their TIPS to Junior Achievement of Delaware. Additionally, BBC donates 10% of meal revenues for those who write "JA" on their dinner check.

  • "Junior Achievement has given me a sense of what adults go through with budget issues."

    -Junior Achievement Student
  • "Junior Achievement reinforced concepts for me to remember later in life."

    -Junior Achievement Student
  • "I thought the experience was amazing. The presentation was unlike anything I've seen."

    -Junior Achievement Student
  • "I liked how the Junior Achievement volunteer explained his job to us."

    -Junior Achievement Student

Get Involved!

Junior Achievement
of Delaware

Donate Now    Volunteer    Request a