About Our Office

Since 1919, Junior Achievement's purpose has been to educate and inspire young people to value free enterprise and understand business and economics to improve the quality of their lives.

Junior Achievement is the world's largest and fastest-growing non-profit economic education organization. Our programs are taught by classroom volunteers from the business community in your area across America and in over 103 countries worldwide.

Junior Achievement is a volunteer driven, non-profit organization. This year more than 2,000 business professionals, parents, retirees and college students will enter our schools to teach Junior Achievement programs. These volunteers use their personal experiences to make the Junior Achievement curricula practical and realistic. Providing children with positive adult role models, who illustrate ways to build self-confidence, develop skills and find avenues of success in our free enterprise system, is a hallmark of Junior Achievement.

Locally, Junior Achievement of the Michigan Edge, Inc. was chartered in April 1952. Led by Dan Karn, President of Consumers Power Company, these leaders recognized the need for our students to learn the fundamentals of the free enterprise system. The first Board of Directors for Junior Achievement of the Michigan Edge, Inc. included:

Dan Karn, President - Consumers Power Company
Townsend F. Beaman - Patent Attorney & Industrialist
Hall Blanchard, President - Hall & Kennedy Insurance
William A. Cizek, Manager - WIBM
Charles A. Cooper
James M. Crowley, President - Pioneer Foundry
Raymond L. Dunlap
Julian N. Brisble, Warden - Southern Michigan Prison
Munro S. Furman, Owner - Furman's Clothing Store
Louis Glick, President - Glick Iron & Metal
George L. Greenawalt, Teacher - Jackson Public Schools
Robert W. Hancock, President - Hancock Manufacturing
Harold E. Handley, President - Handley Heater Company
Frank J. Hardy, Pastor - St. Mary's Church
Edwin C. Hetherwick, General Manager - Hayes Industries
Charles Hollerith, Secretary/Treasurer - Hollerith Whitelock
W. Earl Holman, Principal - Jackson High School
Peter F. Hurst, President - Aeroquip Corporation
Henry E. W. Jury, President - Jury Rowe Furniture
Roy M. McDermott, Manager - Clark Equipment
Don T. McKone, Sr. Partner, McKone & Badgley
George M. North, Jr., President - North-Moeller
Walter Patterson, Vice President/Manager - WKHM
Nathan Rosenfeld, President - Jacobson's
Carl M. Saunders, Editor - Jackson Citizen Patriot
Stuart M. Schram, Chairman - National Bank of Jackson
John J. Smith, President - Sparton Electronics (Sparks-Withington)
Carl F. Spaeth, President - City Bank
Donald M. Teer, President - Teer Wickwire
Edmund P. Wandal
Kenneth A. Weatherwax, President - Acme Industries