Board of Directors

To reach the full breadth and width of our territory requires an active Board of Directors. Each year it is the goal to have 50 board members on the rolls to help establish policy, strategic plans, securing resources, and assuring our area of sound management, in addition to evaluating the performance of the Chief Staff Officer. The top minds of the area serve to 'steer the JA ship' as we navigate bolder waters - more students, more classes, more impact!!

Historically JA of SW VA board members are representatives of area businesses and are either upper or middle management. All board members are asked to adhere to the following Five Points of Importance:

  1. To make a personal gift
  2. Secure a gift from their company
  3. Teach/Observe a class
  4. Attend or support the three Special Events
  5. Help recruit volunteers for the classroom from their place of work or their vendors

Board members are asked to serve three-year terms, and they may replace themselves or renew as often as they like. This year, the board will meet more frequently than previous years, with eight board meetings and two scheduled classroom observations. Each board member is asked to select which one of the seven standing committees they wish to be a member of, and their choices are: Board Relations, Awareness/Branding, Funding and Finance, Technology, Student Impact, Special Events, and Strategic Planning.


Current 2019-2020 Board Members:

2019-20 Officers

Arika Zink, WFXR/Virginia First

Doug Phares, TMEIC

Immediate Past Chairman
John Register, Midsummer Wealth Management

Pete Orr, Roanoke Gas Company

Sam Oakey IV, Oakey Funeral Services & Crematorium

Doug McQuade, retired KPMG


Board of Directors

Wendi Adams- The Kroger Company

Forrest Belcher - Scott Insurance

Brendan Bellantis - Fed Ex
Barry Buchanan - First Citizens Bank

Jessica Chrisman, MemberOne FCU

Margie Cundiff - Lanford Brothers
Carolyn Fittz - Revlon/Elizabeth Arden

Roy Foutz  - Stop In

Nancy Galli - Nancy's Candy Company

Daniel Gunn - AFC Urgent Care

Ellie Hammer - Merrill Lynch, Gobble Hammer & Asso.

Marilyn Harriman - HomeTrust Bank

Richard Hedley - Brown Edwards & Co.

Curtis Hicks - Salem City Schools

Susan Hudson - Black Dog Salvage

Julie Kern - Wells Fargo

Sherman Lea, Jr. - New Hope Support Services, LLC

Dean Lipscomb - SunTrust Bank

T. Douglas McQuade - Retired, KPMG

Scott Miller - Nest Realty

Tony Morrison - Spectrum Brands

Tracy Nester - Lawrence Companies

Garry Norris - Express Employment Professionals

Sam Oakey, IV - Oakeys Funeral Service & Crematory

Michelle O'Connor - CMR Institute

Pete Orr - Roanoke Gas Company

Diana Pemberton - American National Bank

Rick Pevarski - Va811

Doug Phares - TMEIC Corporation

John Register - Midsummer Wealth Management

Coy Renick - Arevo Group

Pamela Richardson - Radford University, Marketing Dept.

Lisa Soltis - City of Roanoke Economic Development Office

Bill Stone - Pinnacle Financial Partners

Richard Turner - James Madison University (RHEC)

Mitch Tyler - SafeSide Tactical, LLC

Julie Beth Vipperman - Branch Group

Autumn Visser - Woods Rogers, PLC

Arika Zink - WFXR/Fox Virginia First