Southwest Virginia Business Hall of Fame


The Biggest Night in Business

Hosted by Junior Achievement of Southwest Virginia, Inc.

Recognizing Achievements of the Past

Inspiring Greatness in the Future


Presenting Sponsor

Honoring distinguished business leaders

who have made outstanding contributions

to free enterprise and society


2019 Southwest Virginia Business Hall of Fame

Monday, November 4, 2019
Hotel Roanoke and Conference Center
6:00pm - 9:00pm

Honoring 2019 Laureates

Dr. Cynda Johnson, Former Dean VTCSOM

James R. Smith, Founder Smith/Packett,Wessex Capital

2019 Entrepreneurs

Michael Fleming, Co-Founder TORC

John D. Lugar, Co-Founder Virginia Varsity Transfer & Self Storage


Click here for Sponsorship, Table Sales and Ticket Information

Go to the Head of the Class!

When you hold the winning ticket, you and everyone at your table will be upgraded to the best table in the room -- specially decorated and situated for the Head of the Class -- and each person at the table will receive a gift basket worth over $300! These baskets have something for everyone, including delicious treats and beverages, wine glasses, a cozy picnic blanket, jewelry, other useful gifts, and a number of gift certificates, all thanks to some of our sponsors!

The tickets for this raffle are only $20, but you must be present to win.

You may purchase Head of the Class Raffle Tickets ($20 each)  above or purchase at the event.




The Business Hall of Fame for Junior Achievement of Southwestern Virginia was introduced in 1990. This awards dinner is held annually at the end of summer to formally induct two distinguished business leaders from the community who have made significant contributions to the Southwest Virginia region.

The laureates are nominated and selected by a committee of their peers.  Once the laureates receive notification and accept the honor, Junior Achievement staffers collect in pictures, clippings and conversation, the life story of each laureate.  Then a vignette is prepared and narrated for presentation at the dinner.

Frequently, companies will purchase tables for their employees and choose to sponsor some JA students so they can witness and  be a part of the well-deserved recognition one receives for hard work and accomplishment.


Southwest Virginia Business Hall of Fame Past Laureates


Dr. Nathaniel L. Bishop

Dr. Vinod Chachra

2018 Entrepreneur

Dr. Victor Iannello


William J. Lemon

Susan K. Still

2017 Entrepreneur

Bonz Hart


Kent S. Greenawalt

Ronald L. Willard, Sr.

2016 Entrepreneurs

Robert Kulp

MIke Whiteside


Bruce Farrell

Jim Wade

2015 Entrepreneurs

Jonathan Hagmaier

David Poteet


Nancy H. Agee

Abney S. Boxley, III

2014 Young Entrepreneur

John (Jack) T. Avis

George B. Cartledge, Jr.
Donald E. Lorton

New - 2013 Young Entrepreneur of the Year
Jason E. Bingham

W. Heywood Fralin
Raymond Smoot

Leon P. Harris
John B. Williamson, III

Dr. T. Marshall Hahn
Anna Logan Lawson

Spencer Frantz
Claudia A. Whitworth

Billy H. Branch
Lorinda G. Lionberger
Samuel L. Lionberger, Jr.

David R. Goode
John Lanford
Stanard Lanford, Jr.

T.A. Carter
Frederick K. Shaftman

Regine Archer
John Vaughan

Jim Arend
Alvin Fink

Walter Rugaber
Garnett E. Smith

Samuel P. McNeil
Thomas L. Robertson

Elizabeth Bowles
Paul Torgeson

M. Caldwell Butler
Lawrence H. Hamlar

Warner Dalhouse
Nick Taubman

E. Cabell Brand
Carter E. Burgess

Edward H. Ould, Jr.
Robert W. Woody

William R. Battle
Gordon C. Willis

John W. Hancock, Jr.
J.W. "Bill" Davis

Horace G. Fralin
S. Lewis Lionberger

Sigmund E. Davidson
Arthur Taubman

George B. Cartledge, Sr.
John P. Fishwick

G. Frank Clement
Junius Blair Fishburn
Robert Hall Smith