JA of West Kentucky Recognizes Top Volunteers and Companies for 2016-2017!

JA of West Kentucky has recognized several companies and individuals who helped make the school year the most successful year in our local history!


U.S. President's Service Award Winners Named

Several companies and individuals received a national award for the amount of volunteer hours committed to our local organization during the 2016-2017 school year.  The US President's Service Award recognizes companies/groups that provide a minimum of 200 volunteer hours and individuals who provide a minimum of 100 volunteer hours to a certifying organization within one calendar year.  During this most recent school year, 9 companies and 13 individuals received this award.  

Bronze Company Awardees: Community Financial Services Bank, DCHS Intro to Education Class, Old National Bank, Brescia University, Tell City High School Students, Woodforest Bank

Silver Company Awardees:  Southern Star Central Gas Pipeline, Kentucky Wesleyan College

Gold Awardee: U.S. Bank & U.S. Bank Home Mortgage

Individual Bronze Awardees: Kathy Backer (T&G Heating and AC), Steve Dixon (Retired), Mark Dohrenwend (Southern Star), Dave Roberts (Retired), Kelly Martin (Pennyrile Hospice), Angie Padgett (UK Extension Office), Bethany Brown (Woodforest Bank), Jamie Braem (Woodforest Bank), Stacy Scarlett (Woodforest Bank), Ariel Head (Western Kentucky University Student), Audrey Lillpop (Farmers Bank and Trust), Chrystal Bailey (U.S. Bank), Tara O'Shan (Kentucky Wesleyan College Student) 


Bill Elmer Volunteer of Excellence Awards Presented

In addition, JA of West Kentucky also has selected a recipient for the 2016-2017 Bill Elmer Volunteer of Excellence Award.  This award began as an initiative in 2009 during JA of West Kentucky's 50th Year Celebration.  Elmer, president of Texas Gas, was instrumental in bringing Junior Achievement to Owensboro in 1959 and remained involved with the local JA organization over the next four decades.  During his involvement, Elmer served both as a local and national board member, volunteer and enthusiastic advocate.  The award is presented to volunteers who exemplify Elmer's same passion and enthusiasm for Junior Achievement.  

JA of West Kentucky presented the Bill Elmer award during for the 2016-2017 school year to David Little, Executive Vice President of U.S. Bank Home Mortgage. 

David serves on the JA of West Kentucky Board of Directors and have led U.S. Bank Home Mortgage in increasing their employee volunteer engagement with JA by 176%! 


U.S. President Service Award Recipients for 2015-2016! 

Daviess County awards were presented at the June School Board Meetings at Daviess County Public Schools and Owensboro Public Schools.  

Company Awards

Southern Star Central Gas Pipeline
634 Hours, 35 Volunteers

US Bank
US Bank Home Mortgage
605 Hours, 32 Volunteers

Brescia University
 322 Hours, 22 Volunteers

Tell CIty High Scholl 
390 Hours, 39 Volunteers

Picture Not Available Yet

First Security Bank
210 Hours, 6 Volunteers
Audrey Lillpop - Individual Award - 120 Hours

Old National Bank
290 Hours, 15 Volunteers

DCHS :"Intro to Education" Class
350 Hours, 35 Volunteers

Woodforest Bank
210 Hours, 6 Volunteers

Picture Not Available Yet

Kentucky Wesleyan College
221 Hours, 19 Volunteers

Hancock County High School
220 Hours, 22 Volunteers

Union County High School
240 Hours, 24 Volunteers

Picture Not Yet Available

Murray State University
240 Hours, 22 Volunteers

Picture Not Available Yet

Community Financial Services Bank (CFSB)
224 Hours, 14 Volunteers

Picture Not Yet Available

Individual Awards

Dave Roberts - Southern Star - 100 Hours

Jamie Braem - Woodforest Bank - 129 Hours

Picture Not Yet Available

Steve Dixon - Retired - 162 Hours

Don Kelley - Retired - 134 Hours

Angie Padgett - UK Extension Office - 180 Hours

Kelly Martin - 145 Hours

Picture Not Yet Available

Kathy Backer - T&G Heating and Air - 100 Hours

Picture Not Yet Available

Marketa Kreuzingerova - Student - 100 Hours

Chrystal Bailey - US Bank - 127 Hours

Picture Not Yet Available


Bill Elmer Volunteer of Excellence Award Recipients 2015-2016!

David McBride - Ken-Tron Manufacturing