Young Entrepreneur of the Year

Presented by:


The spirit of our free enterprise system resides in the dreams of our young people. Every day in Wisconsin there are young people that do what many only dream about. They turn their dream into reality, take a chance on success and have a big impact on the lives of others while doing something they love. Who are they? They are young entrepreneurs.

EY, Junior Achievement and the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction would like to give recognition to an individual from 5th grade through 12th grade that is making their mark on our free enterprise system by turning a business idea into a reality; an individual who applied the entrepreneurial spirit and demonstrated business knowledge to realize an actual operating business.

We will begin accepting applications for the 2018 Young Entrepreneur of the Year in January 2018.


Award and Recognition:
Congratulations to Laney Hughes, with Shallocat, on being selected as the 2017 Young Entrepreneur of the Year presented by EY and in partnership with Junior Achievement of Wisconsin and the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction (DPI).

She received a scholarship of $2,000 and was recognized at the Wisconsin Business Hall of Fameā„¢ Induction Ceremony. Scholarships may be applied toward expenses at any (post-secondary) educational institution. Financial awards will be mailed directly to the institution in the award recipient's name. All finalists will receive a certificate signed by Dr. Tony Evers, the State Superintendent of Public Instruction, and Tim Greinert President of Junior Achievement of Wisconsin. 



Judging Criteria:
The winner was chosen based on business success, growth potential, and social involvement. The selection committee also considers the entrepreneur's age when the business was started and any special challenges that had to be faced, strategic direction, innovation, personal integrity, and leadership.

2016 Winner Natalie Abbott / West Hill Honey Company / Chippewa Falls
2015 Winnner Andrew Pfluger / AMP Hobby / Green Bay
2014 Winner Carter Drake / Dreamscape Landscaping / Fort Atkinson
2013 Winner Luke Eisner / Luke Eisner DJ & Lighting, LLC / Greenfield
2012 Winner Austin White-Peony / Mad Town Phone Sales / Fitchburg
2011 Winner Candace Wetter / Edge of Town Dairy / Stitzer
2010 Winner Christine O'Neil / Pumpkins with Perspective / Saukville
2010 Winner Matt Meis / Meis P.C. Solutions / Stevens Point
2009 Winner Allison Loderbauer / ABC Balloons / Appleton
2008 Winner Casey Profita / Ace Clothing Industries / Salem
2007 Winner Zach Vruwink / Zach's Computers / Wisconsin Rapids