JA of Northern Indiana-LaPorte County | Junior Achievement of Northern Indiana, Inc.

LaPorte County

More than 1,575 young people across LaPorte County are building economic knowledge and personal financial literacy through JA programs during this school year. The learning is possible because of our community's educators who invite JA programs into their classrooms and volunteers who mentor the youth. 

To join us as a volunteer, email Kris Engel at (219) 771-5064. To donate please email Linda Tinsley or call (828) 545-3525.


Make a donation to ensure the learning continues

JA of Northern Indiana- LaPorte Events

At JA of Northern Indiana, we host several events throughout the year to raise money to support our programming. These events also engage the community in our efforts to reach students! Whether you'd like to get involved on an individual level or as a business through event sponsorship, we offer several ways for you to support our work while having a great time!

Phone Drive

Phone Drive

When: Coming Soon


Junior Achievement Facts

What Is Junior Achievement?

Junior Achievement has 109 local JA Areas across the nation, and together we are the nation's largest organization dedicated to giving young people the knowledge and skills they need to own their economic success, plan for their futures, and make smart academic and economic choices. JA's programs—in the core content areas of work readiness, entrepreneurship, and financial literacy—ignite the spark in young people to experience and realize the opportunities and realities of work and life in the 21st century.


Junior Achievement's purpose is to inspire and prepare young people to succeed in a global economy.


Mr. Richard A. Woods, Senior Vice President of Corporate Affairs (Retired) of Capital One, is chairman of the Junior Achievement USA board of directors. Jack E. Kosakowski is the president and chief executive officer of Junior Achievement. Junior Achievement USA board members represent a wide range of businesses and academic institutions around the world. In addition, approximately 4,300 board members lead JA Area Offices around the United States. Lena Yarian is the President and CEO of JA of Northern Indiana. Michael Cahill, President of Gibson, is the Chair.

Proven Success

Junior Achievement is one of a few nonprofits to use independent, third-party evaluators to gauge the impact of its programs. Since 1993, independent evaluators have conducted studies on Junior Achievement's effectiveness. Findings prove that Junior Achievement has a positive impact in a number of critical areas. We invite you to see our evaluation results. 

Program Reach

Nationally, Junior Achievement reaches more than 4.8 million students per year in 209,651classrooms and after-school locations. JA programs are taught by volunteers in inner cities, suburbs, and rural areas throughout the United States, by 106 Area Offices in all 50 states. JA of Northern Indiana reaches approximately 142,207 students per year.

A Brief History

Junior Achievement was founded in 1919 by Theodore Vail, president of American Telephone & Telegraph; Horace Moses, president of Strathmore Paper Co.; and Senator Murray Crane of Massachusetts. Its first program, JA Company Program®, was offered to high school students on an after-school basis. In 1975, the organization entered the classroom with the introduction of Project Business for the middle grades. Over the last 39 years, Junior Achievement has expanded its activities and broadened its scope to include in-school and after-school students.

Organization Overview

Junior Achievement USA is headquartered in Colorado Springs, Colorado, and provides strategic direction, leadership, and support to 109 JA Areas across the nation. Local volunteer boards of directors comprised of business, education, and civic leaders set the policy and direction for each local office. JA of Northern Indiana was founded in 1952.


Junior Achievement's 237,680 classroom volunteers come from all walks of life, including business people, college students, parents, and retirees. These dedicated individuals are the backbone of our organization.

JA of Northern Indiana Executive Members: LaPorte County

Tom Powley  — Chair
1st Source Bank
Debbie Otto  — Treasurer
Intercontinental Subscription Service
Robin Kohn — Secretary
Michigan City Public Library

JA of Northern Indiana Board of Directors: LaPorte County

Chip Claussen — Member
Michigan City Public Library
TyAisha Gardner — Member
Woodforest Bank
Michelle Konieczny — Member
Purdue Federal Credit Union
Jay Sittig  — Member
Vanair Mobile Power Solutions
Seth Spencer — Member
SERA Solutions
Amber Terry — Member
Goodwill Industries

JA of Northern Indiana Advisory Board of Directors: LaPorte County

Blake Applegate — Member
Applegate & Co., CPA's
Sarah Brown  — Member
Edward Jones-LaPorte
Sacha Burns — Member
LaPorte County Solid Waste District
Bill Hackney — Member
The News Dispatch & Herald Argus
Robert Lake  — Member
PUBCO Printing
Dan McKibben — Member
Westville Middle-High School
Rita Mrozinski — Member
Greater LaPorte Chamber of Commerce
Kimberly Palmer — Member
Coolspring Elementary School
Carl Savich — Member
General Insurance Services, Inc.
Jennifer Shoup — Member
Horizon Bank
Stephanie Stout — Member
Wells Fargo Home Mortgage
Andy Swan — Member
Blocksom & Company
Benjamin C. Tonagel — Member
LaPorte High School
Amy Welkie  — Member
1st Source-Westville Banking Center
Lance Werner — Member
Michigan City Area Schools
  • "Junior Achievement has given me a sense of what adults go through with budget issues."

    -Junior Achievement Student
  • "Junior Achievement reinforced concepts for me to remember later in life."

    -Junior Achievement Student
  • "I thought the experience was amazing. The presentation was unlike anything I've seen."

    -Junior Achievement Student
  • "I liked how the Junior Achievement volunteer explained his job to us."

    -Junior Achievement Student

Thank You to These Businesses for Their Support

Get Involved!

Junior Achievement
of Northern Indiana, Inc.

Donate Now    Volunteer    Request a

// ]]>